Mon, 27 May 2019

SAN FERNANDO CITY, Nov. 14 (PIA) -- Out of the 263 local government unit (LGU) recipients for this year's Seal of Good Local Governance (SGLG), the Ilocos Region garnered the most number of the awardees totaling to 51 or 19.39 percent.

The 44 municipalities, four cities, and three provinces in the region were recognized for their excellence on the required key governance areas.

This year's SGLG is based on new upgraded core areas such as financial administration, disaster preparedness, social protection and peace and order program implementation and all essential areas such as environmental management, business friendliness and competitiveness and their promotion for tourism, culture and the arts or "4 + All-In".

In the past years, the LGUs were only required to pass the four core areas and at least one essential area or "4+1".

In the provincial category, La Union, Ilocos Sur and Pangasinan received the prestigious award. For this classification, at least 10 percent of their cities and municipalities must also meet the criteria.

The cities of San Fernando in La Union, Candon and Vigan in Ilocos Sur, and Alaminos, Pangasinan were recipients of SGLG this year.

The municipal awardees are the towns of Bacarra, Currimao, Paoay, Piddig and San Nicolas in Ilocos Norte; and Caoayan, Salcedo, San Esteban, San Ildefonso, San Vicente, Santa, Sta. Catalina, Sto. Domingo, and Tagudin in Ilocos Sur.

Further, included in the province of La Union are seven municipalities such as Agoo, Aringay, Balaoan, Caba, Rosario, San Gabriel, Santo Tomas, and the City of San Fernando.

Awardees from Pangasinan are the towns of Agno, Aguilar, Alcala, Anda, Balungao, Bayambang, Binalonan, Bugallon, Burgos, Calasiao, Infanta, Lingayen, Malasiqui, Mangaldan, Mangatarem, Natividad, San Manuel, San Nicolas, Sta. Maria, Tayug, Umingan, Urbiztondo and Villasis.

In a press statement, Balaoan, La Union Mayor Atty. Aleli U. Concepcion said, "Hard work finally paid off after all the meaningful programs and projects undertaken by the local government units."

"This achievement is a product of the collective efforts of the men and women of the LGUs, the different barangays and other community members who joined together to plan, develop and implement the programs which contributed in attaining the desired goals of the SGLG," Concepcion added.

Passers were conferred with the 2018 SGLG marker and are now eligible to the Performance Challenge Fund (PCF) to be used in developmental projects in their areas of jurisdiction and will receive assistance on other development programs from DILG.

Following the rank of Ilocos Region is Region III (Central Luzon) and Region IVA (CALABARZON) with 43 and 24 awardees, respectively.

DILG awarded 207 municipalities, 39 cities and 17 provinces during the ceremonies spearheaded by the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) held on November 6, 2018 at the Tent City, Manila Hotel in the City of Manila aimed to continuously influence good governance in LGUs. (JNPD/AHFF/PIA-1)

More Philippines News

Access More

Sign up for Philippines News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!