Wed, 12 Aug 2020

Talibon bags 2 top nat'l Rice Achievers Awards

Philippine Information Agency
10 Jun 2019, 22:38 GMT+10

TAGBILARAN CITY, May 31 (PIA)--The municipality of Talibon bagged two of the 3 national awards of the 2018 Rice Achievers Awards (RAA) during its awarding ceremony held at the Philippine Convention Center in Pasay City on May 30, 2019.

Talibon was cited as the Outstanding Municipality while San Roque Irrigators Association (SARISA) of Talibon town also bagged the Outstanding Small Water Irrigation System Association (SWISA) award.

This is the second time that the municipality of Talibon was cited by the Department of Agriculture (DA) as one of the Rice Achiever Awardees in the entire country for achieving rice sufficiency for the year 2016 and 2018, according to local sources

Ably represented by SB Chair on Agriculture and Fisheries Hon. Apolinario E. Artiaga, Municipal Agriculturist Angelito A. Oroyan, Rice Technician Angeles C. Opiala, and Information Officer Almer D. Polo received the plaque and P1 million cheque allotted for the agricultural programs during the awarding last Thursday afternoon.

For the Outstanding Small Water Irrigation System Association award, SARISA also received P500, 000.00 cheque.

Senator Cynthia Villar graced the event and commended the awardees for their contribution in the national rice production.

RAA is an annual search of DA to give recognition to outstanding provinces, municipalities/cities, agricultural extension workers (AEW), local farmer technicians (LFT), Irrigators Association (IA) and Small Water Irrigation System Association (SWISA) for their contribution in the rice industry as well as to encourage them to deliver excellence through improved quality and higher yield production.

Adjudged top performing local government units and farmers' organizations were given cash incentives through the DA Rice Program.

Talibon Mayor Restituto B. Auxtero's administration continues to enhance the quality of agriculture in Talibon by providing support to local farmers and improving farming practices with the use of the modern technologies and machineries.

Mayor Auxtero credited the award to the indispensable Talibongnon farmers who tirelessly worked on their farms with dedication.

Meanwhile, two Bohol irrigators associations namely: Gabibu Irrigators Association of Ubay town (for the Irrigators association category) and Pansul United Farmers Association (PUFA) of Guindulman town for the Small Water Irrigation System Association (SWISA) category won the top special awards.

The Outstanding Irrigators Association award was taken by Bayawan United Farmers Irrigators Association, INC. of Bayawan, Negros Oriental. (ecb/PIA7-Bohol)

More Philippines News

Access More

Sign up for Philippines News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!